Face your fear

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.”  Franklin D. Roosevelt

My mind was racing with questions as my mom and I pulled up to the license bureau:  What if I fail my driver’s test?  What if I hit a pole parallel parking?  What if I accidentally speed?  My heart was pounding and my palms were sweating as my mom stepped out of the car.  I took a deep breath as I waited for the test instructor.  “This is ridiculous” I told myself, “I can’t let fear rule my life.  I’m a good driver and I will ace my driver’s test.”  I took a few more long breaths as I calmed myself down.  Soon the instructor came, and I completed my test.  Guess what?  I passed with flying colors!

Fear forces you to look into the future, instead of staying in the present.  It keeps your mind racing with “what if” questions and leaves your body paralyzed.  Fear keeps you from achieving your goals because you’re so focused on what might go wrong.  I want you to take a pledge today that you will face your fear head on and not let it stand in the way of goals.  What would have happened if I gave into my fear and not completed my driver’s test?  Yes, I would be walking everywhere.  Instead, I conquered my fear and am easily able to drive where I need.

Are you afraid to start college?  Does the very thought make you cringe?  When your mind starts to become consumed with negative thoughts… STOP and take a few moments to think of all the positives.  You will have the time, money and study skills to complete your degree.  A degree can help you land that dream job, make more money and gain a sense of accomplishment.  There are numerous resources and helpful advisors to guide you along your educational journey, so there is no need to shy away from college.  Overcome your fear and complete your degree today!

Contributed by: Kimberly Imdieke | Online Advisor

One thought on “Face your fear

  1. Pingback: Kim’s Final Thoughts | Distance Minnesota

Leave a Reply

